Share Your Project

We love collaboration! Share your project with others by adding them to a project or sharing a link, so you can receive feedback and edits, write and edit on your own schedules, or even write at the same time! 
Is a collaborator not a WriterDuet user? No worries! How about you try a Publish link instead! See Publish a Comment-Friendly Link with WriterDuet Read for details.

In This Article


Invite Collaborators by Email

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
    1. You can also share from the Portfolio by right-clicking on the project and selecting Share
  2. Enter one email at a time
    1. If you have collaborated with this person before, their name will appear from your contacts list for you to select.
  3. Edit the permissions for each email listed
    1. Open the drop-down to the right of the email
    2. Select the desired permissions
      1. Admin - will allow them to edit and share the project just as you can. You are still the project owner.
      2. Editor - will allow them to edit the project
      3. Read-only - will allow them to view the project and leave comments
      4. Advanced
        1. Auto update - This is on by default. When off, the collaborator becomes a Static Collaborator and they will not see your changes unless you update them from the Share menu. See Update Static Collaborator below.
  4. As needed, add a message for the collaborator(s)
  5. Select Send # Invite(s)
    1. The collaborator will receive an email with a link to join the project.

Anyone who joins the project through this link will join with the permissions you set for the link. After they have joined, you can change each collaborator's permissions. See Edit Collaborator Permissions below.

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
    1. You can also share from the Portfolio by right-clicking on the project and selecting Share
  2. Next to Create multi-use link, open the permissions drop-down
    1. The link's permissions can always be updated after creation
    2. The link is multi-use by default, meaning multiple people can use it and it does not expire unless it is "Removed"
    3. To change the link to single-use, meaning it can only be clicked once and then it expires:
      1. In the permissions drop-down, uncheck the box next to Multi-use
  3. Select the desired permissions
    1. Admin - will allow them to edit and share the project just as you can. You are still the project owner.
    2. Editor - will allow them to edit the project
    3. Read-only - will allow them to view the project and leave comments
    4. Advanced
      1. Auto update - This is on by default. When off, the collaborator becomes a Static Collaborator and they will not see your changes unless you update them from the Share menu. See Update Static Collaborator below.
  4. Select Create multi-use link to generate the link
    1. The link will be copied immediately after clicking to create
    2. If you are sharing the link again, select Copy multi-use link to copy the link
  5. Share the link with your collaborator(s) however you desire!

Create a New/Additional Share Link

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Next to Copy multi-use link, open the permissions drop-down
  3. Select Create new link
  4. Edit the permissions as needed before copying to share



Edit Collaborator Permissions

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Open the permissions drop-down to the right of the collaborator
    1. Select the desired permissions
      1. Admin - will allow them to edit and share the project just as you can. You are still the project owner.
      2. Editor - will allow them to edit the project
      3. Read-only - will allow them to view the project and leave comments
      4. Advanced
        1. Auto update - This is on by default. When off, the collaborator becomes a Static Collaborator and they will not see your changes unless you update them from the Share menu. See Update Static Collaborator below.



Remove a Collaborator

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Open the permissions drop-down to the right of the collaborator
  3. Select Remove


Remove a Sharable Link

  1. Select Share from just above the page, or from the main menu select Share > Share Project
  2. Next to Copy multi-use link, open the permissions drop-down
  3. Select Remove


Remove Yourself as a Collaborator

  1. While viewing the project, select File > Remove Project
    1. A prompt will appear asking if you are sure you want to "permanently stop collaborating" on the project.
  2. Select Remove
    1. This is an immediate action.
    2. You will no longer be able to view, comment, edit, or share the project. It will no longer appear in your portfolio.

OR

  1. Open your portfolio
  2. Right-click on the project you wish to remove.
  3. Select Delete
    1. A prompt will appear asking if you are sure you want to "permanently stop collaborating" on the project.
  4. Select Remove
    1. This is an immediate action.
    2. You will no longer be able to view, comment, edit, or share the project. It will no longer appear in your portfolio.



Update Static Collaborators

Static collaborators will not receive your real-time changes to the document (though you will receive theirs) so manually updating them is the only way to ensure they have the most up-to-date version of the doc.

  1. From the main menu, select Share > Update Static Collaborators
    1. As desired, check the box next to Email static collaborators and craft a message
  2. Select Update



Share with non-WriterDuet Users

You can share a Publish link for people to read and leave comments on. See Publish a Comment-Friendly Link in WriterDuet Read for details.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.