Time Machine & Snapshots

Time Machine 
The Time Machine collects Snapshots of the history of your document. These Snapshots are generated through Auto-saves, document exports, and the manual creation of a Snapshot. 

Snapshots
A Snapshot is a timestamp in your document's history. It acts as a flag so that you can return to that moment for later review, or to copy to a new Doc. Each Snapshot has a date and time stamp. Snapshots are read-only versions of your work.

In This Article


Open the Time Machine

  1. Select the History icon in the left sidebar
    1. If you are in the Classic layout, select the History tab in the right widget panel
    2. To add the Time Machine widget to your layout, see Customize Your Layout
Time Machine (History) Icon



Create a Snapshot

  1. Open the Time Machine
  2. Toggle widget options
  3. Select Create a new snapshot
  4. Name the Snapshot
  5. Select Create snapshot

OR

  1. Select History from above the document
  2. Select Save snapshot 



Enable Create A Snapshot on Save

Enabling this setting will allow you to create a new snapshot every time you complete a save (Cmd/Ctrl + S or select File > Save).

  1. Select File > Customize > Editing
  2. Check Create a snapshot of your document on save



Rename a Snapshot

  1. Open the Time Machine
  2. Select the three dots next to the Snapshot name
  3. Select Rename this snapshot
  4. Type a new name
  5. Press Enter/Return



Open a Snapshot in Split Pane

This will allow you to see your current and previous work side-by-side.

  1. Open the Time Machine
  2. Select the three dots next to the Snapshot name
  3. Open in split pane



Copy a Snapshot into an Editable Document

This will create a copy of the snapshot as a new document in the same project. You can then edit this document without affecting the original.

  1. Open the Time Machine
  2. Select the three dots next to the Snapshot name
  3. Select Make a copy
    1. The copy will include the same title as the original document with a date and time stamp. To change the name of the document go to the Docs widget
    2. The copy will open in the new tab in the app. 



Delete a Snapshot

This action cannot be undone. 

  1. Open the Time Machine
  2. Select the three dots next to the Snapshot name
  3. Select Delete snapshot
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.