Locally Saved Backups

What does it do?

As you work, a backup of your changes is saved locally to your browser's cache periodically and every time you save. This will be a plain-text backup of your work.


Locally Saved Backups

These are backups saved to your browser memory in Fountain format, which is a plain-text screenwriting format based on Markdown. Due to its screenwriting-specific nature, it is able to format automatically for screenplays. 

These backups are erased when logging out using Help > Logout, to keep your content secure from other users on shared devices. For that reason, if you are prone to experiencing network issues, you will always want to make sure that everything is synced online before logging out with Help > Logout. 

**If it's not a shared device, you may want to log out only when necessary, and just close your app/browser tab instead to end sessions.


Recover Content via Locally Saved Backup

  1. Select Help > Locally Saved backups 
    1. Can also be opened through Docs > Locally Saved Backups
  2. Locate the backup by the Title, Date, and Time of the backup
  3. Copy the plain text backup
  4. Paste the text into the appropriate document

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us