Invite Collaborators to a Project (v6)

We have made some great changes in v7 to sharing projects. Check it out!

What does it do?

We love collaboration! Share your project with others by adding them to a project or sharing a link, so you can receive feedback and edits, write and edit on your own schedules, or even write at the same time! 

Is a collaborator not a WriterDuet user? No worries! They can join the shared project to comment, write, and edit with a free WriterDuet account!

Share Editing Permissions

Collaborators will be able to view and edit all parts of the project. The creator is still the only user who can delete the project. 

Option 1: Add Collaborator
  1. Select Share (the following steps are dependent upon your layout and which option you select)
    1. Share > Share Project
    2. Share icon (in sidebar)
    3. Share widget (see Open a Widget)
  2. Select the + to add Collaborators
  3. Enter the email(s) of the collaborator(s) you wish to add
  4. Select the + to the right of the email.
    1. Permissions will default to Editor
    2. The ˅ (dropdown arrow) will open each collaborator's permissions
      1. Can share will allow them to share the project
      2. Can edit will allow them to edit the project
      3. Requires manual updates will allow them to make edits. The creator will then review and update the edits manually. 
  5. Select the desired permissions for each collaborator.
  6. Add a message to the collaborator(s).
  7. Select Send # Invite(s)

Option 2: Generate a Shareable Link

  1. Select Share (the following steps are dependent upon your layout and which option you select)
    1. Share (menu option) > Share Project
    2. Share icon (in sidebar)
  2. Select the + for Shareable Links
  3. A shareable link will generate.
    1. Permissions will default to Editor
    2. The ˅ (dropdown arrow) will open each collaborator's permissions
      1. Can share will allow them to share the project
      2. Can edit will allow them to edit the project
      3. Requires manual updates will allow them to make edits. The creator will then review and update the edits manually. 
      4. Multi-use will allow them to use the link to open the project multiple times.
  4. Select Click here to copy share link
  5. Share the link with collaborator(s) however you desire. 

Share Read-Only Permissions

Collaborators will only be able to read the script and leave comments for the creator. They will be identified as a "static" collaborator.

Option 1: Add Collaborator
  1. Select Share (the following steps are dependent upon your layout and which option you select)
    1. Share (menu option) > Share Project
    2. Share icon (in sidebar)
  2. Select the + to add Collaborators
  3. Enter the email(s) of the collaborator(s) you wish to add
  4. Select the ˅ (dropdown arrow) next to the name of the collaborator(s)
  5. Un-check the box for Can edit
    1. This will designate them as a Reader
  6. Add a message to the collaborator(s).
  7. Select Send # Invite(s)
Option 2: Generate a Shareable Link
  1. Select Share (the following steps are dependent upon your layout and which option you select)
    1. Share (menu option) > Share Project
    2. Share icon (in sidebar)
  2. Select the + for Shareable Links
  3. A shareable link will generate.
  4. Select the ˅ (dropdown arrow) next to Click here to copy share link
  5. Un-check the box for Can edit
    1. This will designate them as a Reader
  6. Select Click here to copy share link
  7. Share the link with collaborator(s) however you desire. 
Share Widget

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us